Final Admirations

Well, it’s finally here. The last week of English 397. I now know so much more about writing in the digital age than I did when the class first started. After reading the multiple books about social media and how it affects us, I have a stronger positive opinion on technology and its uses. I feel confident that I will be able to use technology and social media in a professional and efficient way in the future.

Throughout the semester, I have had the pleasure of reading so many wonderful pieces of work. I was both impressed and inspired by each of my classmates. For almost every assignment, I envied and admired the prose of Will’s works. Although I was not a fan of Carr and his negative take on technology and its effects on us, Will’s emotions about the disconnect that is created because of technology and his previous knowledge of the brain greatly convinced me to fear the reliance I have on my phone. Will then shares with the readers a quote from Carr: “outsource memory, and culture withers”. This quote is powerful on its own, but Will’s interpretation of Carr’s words help the reader better understand the logic behind Carr’s fears.

“The understanding is that when we avoid the grandeur of the real world and infuse ourselves with the online world, we begin to lose something vital to who we are.”

-Will Kebbe

Unlike Carr, Will doesn’t leave us hanging with no suggestions to better ourselves. He says that “engaging in socially active conversations and events, making a point to seek them out in the future, and repeating might blur the necessity we have to our phones.” I’m not sure if he uses a thesaurus when choosing these eloquent words or if he is just a syntax prodigy, but either way, I hope to eventually gain the skills to rise to his level of prose.

In the beginning of the semester, it would have been easier for me to point out a piece that has done something on-screen that you cannot do on page. However, as I have seen with the multiple remediation pieces, writers have taken pieces from video to page and vice versa in very creative and interesting ways.

Nicole’s remediation piece is a great example of something you can do on-screen but may be hard to do on page. In her freshmen E110, she wrote a research paper on how women are portrayed in literature. In her piece she includes a written summary of the results she received after constructing an online survey.

“The three most common roles people have responded to have read woman occupying are mothers (74%), housewives (57%), and sex objects (45%).”

To remediate this information, she took the results and created an infographic. Although this same infographic could be drawn on a piece of paper, it would take much more time to create this on paper and add the multiple pictures and color that is shown on-screen. When I first saw this piece, I completely surpassed the paragraph summarizing her results. My eye was immediately drawn toward the graphs and the familiar images of characters and princesses. By creating an infographic for research projects such as this, it makes the reader work harder to understand the information given, but in a more creative and fun way. If you just wrote out the results in a large paragraph, just as Nicole provides for us in her piece, the reader may lose interest or may not comprehend the extent of the differences or impacts between variables.

Author: Amanda DeFilippis

I am a Sophomore currently studying Communications at the University of Delaware.

Leave a Reply

