Favorites

Sam’s Hudson River Blues perfectly demonstrates the advantages of the screen over written text. Sweet guitar twangs accompany a beautifully blue photograph of the peer while Sam begins his piece, “Peering off the end of the peer, I find so much wonder, and wonder why no one is here.” The ability to set tone and to give a precise emotional imagery to a work is a unique value of the screen. Perhaps he could have added subtitles to the video, similar to a lyric video, but the current iteration is moving and gets its point across. This piece is simple, straightforward, and effective.

Melinda’s “No Online Presence” is an excellent example of clear, rational writing. I enjoy this piece because her train of thought throughout is easy to follow with examples and personal observations aplenty. The piece is also quite personal and has a stream of consciousness writing style, which gives it a simple yet effective pacing:

“What I learned from this experience: not every tweet gets attention. Some things are overlooked, and probably should be. Some things instigate and demand a response, but for the most part it’s just people putting their thoughts out there. I’ve also realized that I’m not a very good digital writer. One of the main reasons for this is that I’m not very concise.What I learned from this experience: not every tweet gets attention. Some things are overlooked, and probably should be. Some things instigate and demand a response, but for the most part it’s just people putting their thoughts out there. I’ve also realized that I’m not a very good digital writer. One of the main reasons for this is that I’m not very concise.” (From Melinda’s Piece)

Explanation upon previous sentences, going from a broad idea to more nuanced specificities is what makes this piece ideal for me as a reader. Easy to follow, interesting due to examples and personal engagement, variation of sentence structure and no awkward sentences (run ons/fragments/overuse of prepositional phrases).

This is the level of prose I strive to achieve. I find myself often making sentences too complex with weird prepositional phrases or ordering: Melinda thinks she may not be a good digital writer, but I am sure she is a great writer!

Author: Graham C

Student at the University of Delaware writing to be the best I can be!

Leave a Reply

