Teach Me to Be You

I decided to interview my close friend, Lucy Vavala. I have always admired her Twitter Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 11.59.32 PM.pngand the many numbers of retweets and likes she gets on everything she posts. Lucy is a junior, Women and Gender Studies major. She describes her Twitter brand as mostly light hearted, although she talks a lot about politics and pop culture. To quote her exactly: “It’s kind of a mess, but it all works together”.  Below is the interview I had with her.

Do you feel you reach people on Twitter you wouldn’t connect with otherwise?

Yes. Definitely. I think I started on Twitter following my friends, a small network. But once I started following celebrities, blogs, and writers I connected with other people who followed these accounts as well. Then once I made my Twitter public, more people began to take notice to my tweets and my friends would retweet it to their friends.

Do you tweet about controversial issues only when an issue is trending or will you just tweet about issues that you are passionate about?

Sometimes the things that are trending are the things I’m really passionate about. Such as the Woman’s March. On Twitter I comment on a lot of current events, but not because everyone else is. I comment because I think it is an important issue that needs to be discussed.

Do you think there is a difference between the voice you use on Twitter and the voice you use in face-to-face interactions?

No. Anything I tweet I make sure sounds like something I would naturally say. If you post something that is attached to your name and your personal brand, but isn’t authentic, why post it?

What tweet are you most proud of? And why?

“My arch nemesis from swim team when I was little is going to the Olympics and I am eating stale triscuits on my couch in complete darkness”

This is horrible to say but I’m most proud of this one because it got the most retweets. I mean, I’m proud of other tweets but this one has to do with social validation.

Have you ever reread a tweet and thought it was too offensive to post?

Yes, there have been times where I reread a tweet of mine and thought “oh wow this could easily be misconstrued”. But even if I am tweeting something political I will still post it. I don’t care if my opinion differs from someone else’s, but if I assume someone will read my tweet and think I’m a bad person then I rethink it.

Do you ever use Twitter as an outlet when struggling in college?

At times, I have had my fair share of vague tweets. But I never really used Twitter as an online diary, because it is so public. I use Twitter as an outlet for my thoughts and opinions, not my feelings.

Do you have any advice or strategies you use when it comes to tweeting?

  1. Make sure it’s your authentic voice. That can be hard to find on social media because sometimes we just post what we think people will want to hear.
  2. Don’t tweet every thought that pops into your head. Use your filter.
  3. Be conscious of how you use capitalization, abbreviation, and word choice.
  4. Choose which audience you are trying to speak to: immediate audience (friends) or random people who might come across your tweet

I used the strategies Lucy gave me and created a tweet I thought would mirror her voice. Surprisingly, it worked! I got 5 likes (which is a lot for me).

Author: Amanda DeFilippis

I am a Sophomore currently studying Communications at the University of Delaware.

2 thoughts on “Teach Me to Be You”

  1. Amanda, Lucy comes across here as a smart, funny, and thoughtful person. Her stale triscuit tweet is both sad and comic, and her advice about composing tweets is terrific! Nice work! ~Joe

    Like

  2. I have a friend like this too! He writes about how he is feeling about issues or his daily activities. It can be refreshing to hear people’s natural tone coming out in a tweet even though there is no audio component.

    Like

Leave a Reply

