Scientist. Occasional Tweeter.

My Mom is a Ph.D chemist: when I discovered she would be taking some marketing classes at UD a few years ago I was perplexed: how could that be valuable for her or her company? As a child I didn’t have the faintest understanding of my parents’ work. I barely do now! So to find out how their education shapes their work is of great interest to me.
I was surprised from our conversation to learn that her job consists of a HUGE multitude of tasks. Twitter handling was a minute aspect of her overall work. But her experiences as a digital writer were interesting nonetheless.
1.What sort of challenges are you faced with when writing or creating content for Twitter?
  • Preparing ahead of time to be able to easily reference more deep content (a link to more information, for example) while tweeting from a conference for example. 
  • Taking time out from engaging in the content of events and tweeting.
  • Experience.
2.What does the Twitter process entail for you: is there someone else editing or checking your work?
I can tweet directly or send to someone who is in charge of our company’s twitter account. Generally though, one person handles it. The scientists at our company have been slow to engage with Twitter–they are focused more on the science, their main job–but they will on occasion provide some content. I have some background from my MBA (marketing concentration) in Twitter so have done more with it, but not that much.
3.What lets you know you are effectively using the digital space: do you look to other Business Twitter accounts for inspiration? Which ones?
I dont check other accounts with this goal in mind for my company in particular. It would be a good idea, however. 
4. Any other details you find interesting/noteworthy about the job?
Generally, I think it is a fun and interesting way to get information and stay in touch with what is trending and potentially identify new clients.
Overall my takeaway is:
#1. Twitter and social media handling is core for every business.
While the individual social side may have questionable effects, the power and reach that social media gives to businesses is undeniable.
#2. It seems ill advised to mix business and pleasure, at least on social media.
Using an alternate twitter or Facebook account for work seems like a great idea. I come to this realization as I am imagining some of the Twitter accounts I see now trying to tweet for a company handle…which seems unlikely to say the least.
#3. Effective tweeting is knowing your audience more than anything else.
The twitter accounts I looked at for a variety of companies had distinct tones/styles that matched their audiences interests. For example, video game handles responded frequently to followers with memes/gif reactions. Highbrow banks and corporate companies refrained from the dangers of interaction. News corporations posted material representative of the bias that their followers would jump to promote.
Know your role to achieve the best results.
This was a positive experience. I think its very enlightening to discuss how others perceive problems/solutions in digital writing and I know the next time I’m stuck on a piece/problem, I will won’t hesitate to look for a fresh perspective!
Author: Graham C

Student at the University of Delaware writing to be the best I can be!

One thought on “Scientist. Occasional Tweeter.”

  1. Graham, You draw a number of interesting take-aways from your conversation with your mom. I’m particularly interested by the idea that you may need to think about using multiple voices/personas, in different accounts, to address different audiences and do different sorts of work. I guess my question would have to do with authenticity. What should the relationship be (should there be a relationship) between work and personal media accounts? ~Joe

    Like

Leave a Reply

