A Review

Olivia Mann is currently an art history and history double major. Despite not focusing on English in her course work, she is a self proclaimed feminist and uses her strengths to write for the UD Review.

As a copy editor, she picks her own assignments which tend to be in the realm of LGBTQ activism and social justice. These are areas of passion for her so it makes writing easier.

In our discussion we covered topics like writing for digital vs. paper, receiving feedback and her writing process.

Are your pieces posted on just the website or printed as well?

” I think all my stories have been in print and on the website. The date of when we write a piece also affects that. Like if the paper comes out on Tuesday and there is immediate news, we will publish only to the website. But we are digital first, so most articles will be out by 11pm Monday night and then it will be printed the next morning.”

Do you write differently when you are writing online?

” It is the exact same copy.”

Do you do a lot of research before writing your pieces or see how it flows?

“Yes I do a lot of research. It really helps when going into an interview, having background, and they really appreciate when you know a lot about them and have the knowledge about them to make a great article. For a piece on Islamaphobia, I found Naveed Baqir through Rate My Professor. It just so happened that he was also a past UD professor. He left UD about a year about and due to the presidential election, he feels that he needs to stand up for his community. He is now the executive director of the Delaware Council on Global and Muslim Affairs.”

Do you receive feedback from readers on your piece?

“One thing that I get feedback on a lot, because I am in the same editing chain, is AP Style. Other feedback, I have gotten is from the Review staff that is very supportive. I have also gotten feedback on my AIDS article, mostly through twitter. People will re-tweet my articles. I have about 10 re-tweets on one article last year. I also had a lot of responses on an article about trigger warnings, because it was kinda like a battlefield of open speech.

When my articles are controversial, that is when they get the most attention. There are times when the Review got dragged through the mud like when Ellie was running for SGA president and the Milo article.”

What’s your favorite piece you have done?

” I would have to say one about Islamaphobia. It was a lot of onsite journalism. Like recapping on an event and saying what happened is great but I got to interview him and attend a Muslim prayer session. It was funny because they come together for religious reasons and at the end they had pizza.”

After speaking with Olivia, I learned more about her research process and how she finds sources for her articles. With so much going on around campus, she is still able to dig deeper than the story on the surface and immerse herself in her words.

Author: Mackenzie

With a mix of knowledge, I strive to compile English, psychology and advertising to enhance the digital world.

1 thought on “A Review”

  1. Mackenzie, Olivia sounds like an interesting and admirable person. I’d like to know more about the Islamophobia article, and what went into the writing of it. ~Joe

    Like

Leave a Reply

