When People Show No Love

After reading some of the posts other people wrote, I realized that a lot of people wanted to touch face in with more serious issues or comment on things that actually matter in the world right now. First off, let me just say that when it comes to commenting on social media I do not really comment on any sight unless it is Twitter or Facebook, with the occasional posts on Instagram. So I changed it up a bit. First I was thinking about going on to a sports blog and seeing if there was anything interesting but I thought maybe that is too simple. So instead, I went to YouTube and tried to stir up a little commotion there.

When I was younger, I used to love reading Spider-Man comic books and he really grew on me as being one of my favorite superheroes. Since those days, there have been six movies, and a seventh on the way that have three different actors portraying the iconic red and blue web-slinger. It started with Toby Maguire, then Andrew Garfield went on to wear the spandex, and now it is a youngster named Tom Holland. So how does this relate to the assignment? Well a new movie coming out called Spider-Man: Homecoming just released a second trailer a few weeks back so it gave me an idea for this assignment. I read through a lot of the comments posted about the trailer and I realized some people are die-hard Spider-Man fans and take it very seriously. I decided to post my own comment to see if I could get a reaction out of people and wrote this:

“Theres been three spiderman actors already but Tom Holland actually kills it the most”
Here is the full page of comments on the YouTube page.
So yea, as you can see I posted a simple, harmless comment, but I thought that it might be enough to get a little debate going on who has been the best Spider-Man actor so far. Well I thought completely wrong. I waited a while to see if I could get any feedback because I saw that people were jumping on comments left and right from earlier in the past, but for me, I got nothing. Now, maybe that is because the trailer I commented under was already three weeks old, and I know that does not seem like that long of a time but i guess in the comic book world with new movie trailers being released left in right, fans tend to lose interest in the old and anticipate the new. Then I thought that maybe I did not give it enough time for people to reply to, but in the end, I think it simply was not a good enough post to gain the attention of others. Overall, I think when it comes to YouTube, people tend to not care about the comments on videos as much as someone would care about a tweet or a Facebook post because those forms of social media are pretty much meant for people sharing their thoughts and opinions while inviting others to comment on them while YouTube is more frequently used for a visual entertainment. I know it is kind of a silly subject I touched upon, but I wanted to be a little different and take a less serious path traveled and I thought a blast to my past would be kind of fun.
Author: Jay B

I'm a junior at the University of Delaware majoring in english and playing on the club lacrosse team

3 thoughts on “When People Show No Love”

  1. Jay, I think you’re right that comments on YouTube tend to quickly slip into the void. So have you considered any other strategies/plaforms for promoting your case for Tom Holland? ~Joe

    Like

  2. Tom Holland was fantastic in Civil War. Spider-man is my favorite super hero and I can’t wait for the new movie. If I’d seen your comment on the trailer I would have agreed with you.

    Like

  3. I must agree with you. I love Tom Holland. I think he plays the role wonderfully. I also agree with you that Youtube users don’t typically communicate with each other through comments. The only person who I think actually cares about the comments is the poster themselves. They may defend themselves or thank a commenter for their kind words. But commenters don’t typically interact with each other all that much. That type of interaction occurs more frequently on Facebook and Twitter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

