Writing as a Social Action

I thought a lot about this assignment, but for a while I was not sure where to start. I personally never comment on public posts because I don’t like getting involved in internet conversations with people I do not know or about any hot-button issues. However, for this assignment I knew that I wanted to comment on an exchange that was relevant on social media in order to try something new, but I just didn’t know what exactly to comment on. I planned on using either Twitter or Facebook, so I decided to do some more searching to see what was trending on those sites.

None of the trending topics were anything that I wanted to publicly comment on or get involved in; therefore, I decided to comment on a post a friend wrote on Facebook. She shared a link to an article from Total Frat Move (red flag right there) called “50 Ways To Be The Perfect College Girlfriend”. She wrote about how disgusting and shameful the article is and how it makes our generation look bad. She was right. The article was completely misogynistic and upsetting to read. I hope it’s a joke, but even if it is it is not funny, at all. A lot of people were commenting on her post in agreement with her. I decided to join in on the conversation (posted below) because it was something I had an opinion about and felt comfortable discussing.

I left a comment in agreement with her about how shameful the article is, and she liked the comment. Lots of other people left similar comments as well, and a majority of them are friends we have in common from our sorority. An advisor of our sorority, that we both work closely with, commented on the post about how proud and lucky we made her feel that we did not agree with what that article stated and would not adhere to that author’s standards of being “the perfect college girlfriend”. Everyone that commented on the post left some variation of the same opinion, so there were not any contrasting thoughts that made it more complex, but it was refreshing to read that no one was taking this horrible article as something factual.

However, the most interesting response to the article was another article. Another friend left a comment on the post to a link of a different article called “50 Ways To Be The Perfect College Boyfriend”. That article was written as a satirical response to the original article. I think that was an interesting form of writing as a social action. While my comment was just on one person’s personal Facebook post, “50 Ways To Be The Perfect College Boyfriend” has been shared 8.4k times and shows just how unacceptable the original article is. Whether or not those 8.4k shares were all shared in agreement with each other will be unknown, but it is evident that people feel a duty to discuss the issues these “50 Ways” articles bring to light. 

**I deleted people’s pictures and names from the pictures below to respect their privacy.

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 3.00.16 PM Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 3.00.30 PM

Author: Molly O'Neill

I am an Organizational and Community Leadership major and a Writing minor at the University of Delaware. I am also a dedicated member of the DE Alpha chapter of Pi Beta Phi and the UD Equestrian Team.

4 thoughts on “Writing as a Social Action”

  1. I agree with you about not liking to really get involved in hot-button issues. Most of the time, I usually keep my opinions to myself, or perhaps I’m comfortable sharing them with only a few close friends/family. However, I think that the article that you chose to comment on is definitely a good issue to voice your opinion. Although I have not seen this particular article floating around, I remember reading one a while back that was starkly similar. It’s unfortunate and disheartening that people, namely men, see women as having to act a certain way or fit a certain standard. I think it’s good that you voiced your opposition to this article. I also think it was smart for whoever wrote the article in response to address the issue the way that they did, as to call out a misogynistic double-standard that still exists.

    Like

  2. I am really glad you chose this article to share your opinion on. On Tuesday of this week, one of my roommates shared the link in our house group chat of six girls including myself. She added – “guys omg someone really just shared this on fb tell me this isn’t the word thing you’ve ever read lol” Then another roommate said: “omg I read that it’s wild u have to keep reminding urself it’s not serious.” in response. I’d never seen it so I took time out my day to read it and I was disgusted to say the least. Although, I did not share my opinion of this article on any social media platform I am glad to see that there were Facebook statuses and comments that disagreed with it. I also feel that your comment of calling it shameful goes a long way because every voice counts.

    Like

  3. I am definitely in the same boat where I don’t like to get involved and comment on current issues on social media. I think this is a really good example though of social action. I also think that people commenting or posting similar things as you is a way of liking and agreeing with what you said. I also really enjoy satire as a way of showing a flaw in something. I think the satirical article making fun of the real one is a good way to show how disgusting the article is.

    Like

  4. Well done, Molly! I think that what is important here is using social media to resist a kind of “bystander effect”. That is, you show your friends that you don’t condone a certain kind of behavior, when silence might suggest that it was okay. ~Joe

    Like

Leave a Reply

