Social Action

I would like to discuss briefly two posts that I shared on my Facebook page- one I intended for this project and one I did not. Both posts I made relate to inequality and oppression of different groups. The first one I will talk about was made on Tuesday about Rachel Dolezal. If you have not heard of her, she was born to two white parents in Montana but claims she has felt she was African American her whole life. When she became an adult she excessively tanned, got her hair permed, and convinced everyone she met that she was really black- she even lied about who her father was. She studied African American studies at school, became a professor for the course, and held a job as part of the department for NAACP. When her parents outed her as white, she quit all jobs and underwent shaming online. I chose to blog about this because it has gained relevance again today as she will be featured on Dr. Phil. The comment that I attached to the article read:

Nicole Mason

Since racism and cultural appropriation is a topic I see pretty frequently on my Facebook feed (thanks to Trump’s election and proposed actions), I thought it would get at least a few comments. I got my first like within 2 hours, and then a couple more over the next 36 hours. I got one comment thanking me for what I said and sharing about this issue.

 

The second post I made the day before on Monday. This one I did not intend to use for my social action assignment (due to its informal structure and some inappropriate content), but it gained a larger reaction that the post I intended to use. This one centers around misogyny and unrealistic standards for girlfriends. The post is a list from “totalfratmove.com” on ways to be the “perfect college girlfriend” including things like having no insecurities, not being upset if your boyfriend ignores you, not being clingy, and keeping the guy and his fraternity brothers happy. This post got me upset because of its derogatory and degrading tone towards women, which is something I see way too often and am tired of witnessing. I had to share my thoughts with people on Facebook and said:

Nicole Mason (1).png

This post got likes immediately and received a total of 15 reactions (which may not be high for most people but is extremely rare for whenever I share something), however it got no comments. This got me thinking. Did I receive more attention because it was a shorter article (written in list form), with lighter content, and did not come from an official news website? These reasons would make sense because in my opinion people are more likely to click on and read to an article if it relates to them (college website vs. global issue), is a shorter read, and the comment the sharer made along with the article is shorter as well.

Overall, I wasn’t shocked by the amount of responses I got. I was certainly not surprised I got mainly likes, however I was expecting to get more than one comment on the article about Rachel Dolezal since it was a more official article.

2 thoughts on “Social Action”

  1. Nicole, I also wrote this assignment about reactions to the “50 Ways To Be The Perfect College Girlfriend” article. While I was not the one who shared the article, I did join in on the conversation about it. The reactions I experienced, and felt, from that post seem to be exactly like the ones you experienced. Everyone that commented on it expressed their disappoint and disbelief in that article. I hope this is a joke, but even if it is there will never be anything funny about it.

    Like

  2. Nicole, This is an interesting pair of posts. While the Rachel Dolezal affair seems a more public and “political” issue, I’m actually more bothered by the “50 Ways” article, since it reinforces everyday oppressions whether it’s meant as a joke or not. So I’m glad that you and Molly responded to it. ~Joe

    Like

Leave a Reply

