Making My Voice Heard

I have always been very invested in the issue of sexual assault. When the video came out of Donald Trump talking about assaulting women and condoning such horrific actions, I was disgusted. I was never one to put my political beliefs online since I have friends and family members who think differently, but this was a bipartisan issue. Someone who views sexual assault as a joke is not someone I want to be associated with let alone have as my president.  Because of my strong feelings about the topic, I decided to take to Facebook and post how I was feeling:

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 9.32.55 PM

I was nervous posting such a strongly opinionated post on social media, but having so many people like it made me feel validated and relieved. 47 people ended up liking my post on Facebook. Some of those people were close friends and family, and some I have never talked to before. I was glad that my post reached people and resonated with some enough for them to like it. The purpose of my post was to bring awareness to a huge issue facing us currently. I also wanted to make my voice heard and make it clear that no one should get away with this behavior. I think that I managed to accomplish my personal goals with this post. Being on social media that day I saw a lot of other people posting similar things. The sad reality I and many others were faced with was that social media posts weren’t enough. I knew a lot of people who were sickened by Donald Trump’s comments but didn’t vote. It was a huge wake-up call for me, and I’m sure a lot of other people, that someone who has sexually assaulted women and condones such acts could be the president. After that experience, I realized that I shouldn’t be afraid of having a voice and standing up for what I believe in because otherwise, nothing will change. You can’t complain about the way things are if you aren’t willing to put in the effort and make a difference.

Author: Jessica Leibman

I am a Freshman at the University of Delaware and I am majoring in English with a minor in Journalism. I want to add my voice to current issues we face.

2 thoughts on “Making My Voice Heard”

  1. This is a really strong piece. I feel as though in this day and age, everyone is very opinionated and social media is the outlet for those opinions. At times, it seems as though having an opinion about something controversial like politics is frowned upon but how else are we supposed to expect change to happen when we keep quiet? Years ago, topics like religion and politics were taboo but I am hopeful that our generation can speak of these topics rationally and intelligently while voicing our concerns. Kudos on your Facebook post!

    Like

  2. Jessica, I’m glad you stood up for your beliefs. I actually think that your post is very carefully worded. You don’t attack, you observe. I wish more people had acted as thoughtfully as you in judging the merits of the candidates.~Joe

    Like

Leave a Reply

