Video vs. Text

I thought using video last week rather than text was a unique experience. I had to take a different approach than I usually do to the video assignment. When I started, I was concerned about how I was going to fill up the minute. By the end of the project, I had to edit a lot out that I wanted to say. In general, I found it harder to communicate what I wanted to say using a video compared to just typing.

When you are typing in a document, you can pour your thoughts onto the page in a moment. If you were to add a video, sound clip, picture, or song to your video to make your point you would need to put in more effort. Taking your ideas and transferring them onto a media platform requires interpretation and editing. However, when you express your idea with a video rather than a block of text you can do so much more with it. Using a video media editor, you can add music, subtitles, transitions, voiceovers, video and so much more. You can create a project with more bells and whistles. This medium is not for everyone though, because if you are not competent using a video editor than the quality of your message suffers. If you were to use a more traditional medium such as a word document, there’s an opportunity to construct a more effective argument.

One aspect of video that makes it so great is the voiceover feature. Many people utilized it in their Concept 60 videos. I thought James’ “How to Properly Watch a Movie at Home” demonstrated this well. His video had action on the screen to follow plus props, so the guidance and the clarification that the James’ voiceover added was vital. I found this useful in my window as well. My Concept 60 video was a step-by-step origami project, so I found voiceover helpful when I was demonstrating folding on camera. That way the video could be concentrated on my hands so the steps would be easier to follow. If James and I did this assignment on a word document, the quality of the overall presentation would go way down. The ideas we were trying to get across would have no examples or directions that were not typed out. While the assignment would be doable, it would still be less effective. The block of text would have to be long just to explain the steps that we could have just shown in the video.

Mackenzie’s video also used tools to help her idea come across better. Her use of pictures steered her concept. They were not stock photos, rather personal pictures. I thought this made her video more effective. The personal touch made the video seem genuine, so if someone watches it who has a prejudice against RAs they might be more likely to listen. In the same way, I thought Ashley M’s use of close-up in her video gave hers an authenticity. The video was simple, but it gave the audience the opportunity to watch her art firsthand. Watching her draw was all the video needed to get her concept across.

Author: Alexandra

I am a junior Psychology major with a Writing minor at University of Delaware.

3 thoughts on “Video vs. Text”

  1. Everything you wrote in your first paragraph just about sums up my experience with this project. I was worried how I was going to be able to fill up the time but then I ended up having to edit of stuff bunch out. I too found it difficult to convey everything I wanted to say in the video. Personally, I feel that I am better able to convey myself over written text than video. However, I appreciate all of the different things you can do with video that you can’t with written text. I also have a newfound appreciation for all of my friends that are in film related majors.

    Like

  2. I agree with Molly that your first paragraph is exactly the experience I had while making this video. I started off extraordinarily worried about taking up sixty seconds in a video. However, after I actually shot my footage, I had well over a minute and had to cut down some scenes so that my video would not be too long. I feel as though many people had this experience as well.

    Like

  3. Hey everyone, I find it interesting that the experience of “having too much” in video is almost exactly the opposite of what people often feel with writing (which is how am I ever going to get to 1,000 or 1,500 or how ever many words I need).

    Alex, I’m also struck that you’re drawn to that aspect of video that seems most like writing: the voiceover. It might be interesting to think about what voice adds to or distracts from writing. ~Joe

    Like

Leave a Reply

