To Use Video, or Not to Use Video?

When working with video, there were a couple things I realized I could do with it that I couldn’t do with written text. The first thing, and the most obvious, is that you can speak and use sound. This helps the viewers understand the tone, mood, and message more clearly than if they were reading the same dialogue as written text. For example, humor can be hard to pick up on when you’re reading, but it something very obvious when used in video (whether from an actor or voiceover). James and Alex both used humor in their videos, and it was easy to pick up on and enjoy. However, if I was reading what they were saying, I’m not sure if I would have had the same reaction. Another thing you can do with video is include pictures/images to support your point. While you can have pictures in text, the effect in a video is different. Showing pictures with a voiceover attached or having them pop up in the corner while an actor is speaking creates a different reaction than putting a picture next to the text in a written work. Visually seeing an image and hearing dialogue helps portray the feelings and emotions the creator of the video wants you to feel or understand. In Jessica’s video, pictures, along with video clips, are used to help viewers understand the power and relevance behind the concept she is speaking about. This covers an area that cannot be achieved in a written work.

While there are a lot of aspects of working with video that can support your point, there are also some that make it more difficult. Personally, I had a hard time conveying my message in video format, especially with a time constraint. I find it a lot easier to write about my thoughts rather than speak about them. I feel that there is a lot more power behind my written words than there is behind my spoken ones. It is also easier to edit when you write something. Every time I messed something up while creating my voiceover, I had to go back and start all over again. Additionally, editing the video drove me crazy. If being a digital native means I’m supposed to be good at this sort of stuff, I am definitely not a digital native. Editing took me a long time to complete, and when I finished I was still not satisfied with it. Video editing is a tough skill to perfect. Since I don’t have that skill, I feel like it took away from my concept because the video was not as great as it could have been.

Author: Molly O'Neill

I am an Organizational and Community Leadership major and a Writing minor at the University of Delaware. I am also a dedicated member of the DE Alpha chapter of Pi Beta Phi and the UD Equestrian Team.

3 thoughts on “To Use Video, or Not to Use Video?”

  1. I agree with you that seeing visuals like photographs while also hearing someone speak is much more effective than just reading text. I’m a very visual learner, so this may be why I enjoy watching videos more and believe that I better learn by video than by text. However, the cool thing about video is that while we have visuals and audio, we can also add text using closed-caption tools. Now, perhaps we have the ultimate learning experience for everyone.

    Like

  2. It was great how much easier it was to get humor to come across in a video. I usually avoid it in text because it can be ambiguous. When you use pictures in text I think it can be less effective than video because usually I find myself glancing at the picture, and then looking past it to find where I’m supposed to begin reading again. I felt like my ability to use a video editor effected the quality of my project too. It was a new platform for me, so there was a lot of trial and error.

    Like

  3. Molly, I wouldn’t beat yourself up too much as a video author; I enjoyed the UDance piece! I’m struck that in this essay you refer to both video and writing as having a certain “power” behind them. But my sense is that you’re not talking about exactly the same thing in each case. I’d love to hear more about how the different kinds of power possessed by each medium. ~Joe

    Like

Leave a Reply

