No Limitations

I related very closely to dana boyd’s depiction of social media.  In chapter three she talks about how kids rely on social media due to their limited freedoms: “For them, Facebook was the only way to stay connected”(boyd 85).  Boyd does a very good job at grasping how younger people use social media.  She accurately describes how children in this generation no longer have the time or opportunity to hang out with their friends in person as often.  Instead, friendships need to be maintained over Facebook and other social media platforms.  Social media allows for a sense of no limitations.

When I was in middle school but mostly high school, I became too busy to hang out with my friends every week.  The only time I would see people was in school.  I had to rely on texting and Facebook in order to communicate and keep up with what people were doing.  My mom would tell me to go and hang out with my friends, but in this day and age, that is unrealistic.  With the limited amount of time this generation has, it is almost impossible to make time to travel to your friend to hang out with them.  My parents talk about how when they were young they would come home from school and walk to their friend’s house.  Maybe my experience is so different because of where I live, but I could never just walk to a friend’s house.  I would need my parents to drive me which with increasingly busy schedules became more and more difficult.

Dana boyd does a very good job at highlighting the disconnect between kids and their parents.  In the beginning of the book and especially the third chapter, boyd goes back and forth between the opinions of kids and the opinions of parents.  The younger and older generations have an extremely large disconnect.  Parents have a perception that children are out of control on the internet and social media.  On the other hand, parents know much less about social media so how can they say that we’re out of control?  The younger generation needs to use social media in order to stay connected with the world around them.  A song that I really like called My World by Kid Cudi has references to how kids need their social media accounts in order to stay connected to other people even when you aren’t with them in person.

 

Author: Jessica Leibman

I am a Freshman at the University of Delaware and I am majoring in English with a minor in Journalism. I want to add my voice to current issues we face.

4 thoughts on “No Limitations”

  1. Jessica, You write eloquently here about the generation gap between f2f socializing and socializing through media. Nice! Your use of the Kid Cudi song at the end of your piece feels like a bit of tease to me, though. I don’t know the song, and you don’t tell me what you want me to listen for. ~Joe

    Like

    1. You’re right, I completely forgot to reference the specific part of the song. It’s the first verse where is says, “Little homie, in the room/Boy on the moon/Had, (had)no one/No one to hang out with…I was too artsy, known to be a clown/And know my Facebook pop it.” When I heard those lyrics I thought they backed up my argument.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the “out of control” thing is usually kids using their phones all the time. I know that when you’re enthralled with something, or are using something unusually frequently it can be difficult to be self aware. To use social media to be connected to the world is kind of a blanket statement for me: is it really necessary? I like the song/nice rhetoric!

    Like

  3. I completely agree with this. My mom also always talks about when she was younger how her & her friends used to hang out and then complains about how addicted to social media our generation is but she’s the one who was strict about where I went & what I did when I was younger. It’s easy to see parallels between the generations. I especially liked your point on how teens rarely have time; with sports, extra curriculars, homework, chores, etc. that teens have it’s difficult to stay connected with anyone for long periods of time and you did a really good job at relaying that in a relatable way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

